Ideas
and Awards.

As early as 1992, Leander Bathon had the idea of embedding hollow cambered steel parts into wood in order to bind wood together with other building materials. In 2000, Bathon introduced the innovative wood-concrete composite system with glued-in steel parts to the international audience at the “World Conference of Timber Engineering” in Canada. Timber construction engineer Rainer Bahmer, who was at the time the CEO of a timber glue construction company, recognized the potential of glued connectors for timber construction.

The first test pieces were then manufactured in cooperation with RheinMain University (formerly known as Hochschule Wiesbaden). The positive results of preliminary trials with smaller test pieces with beams and a 10 m 1:1 test piece as a plate, plus a few smaller construction objects relating to the renovation of old buildings, led to the development of the “HBV system”. In 2000–2001, the first HBV floor with glued-in HBV shear connectors was installed in an office building with a span of 10 m and an area of 400 sq. m. Various steel plates and adhesives for the wood-concrete composite were also tested at the same time in numerous further trials between 2000 and 2002.

Initiated by Prof. Bathon, the Labor für Holzbau (timber construction laboratory) was set up in September 2002 as an institution of the Architecture and Civil Engineering faculty at RheinMain University, known today as one of the leading research institutions for timber construction. General building authority approval issued by the German Institute for Construction Technology (DIBt) in Berlin has been in place for the HBV system since March 2004, under number Z-9.1-557. Numerous load-bearing structures have been installed with the HBV system since 2004, with a total area now covering more than 100,000 sq. m. Rainer Bahmer then founded TiComTec GmbH in 2006. The aim of the company is the further development and sale of the HBV and HSK systems. As a research institution, the Labor für Holzbau focused on further composite structures in the years that followed.

The aim was to find a wood-steel composite adhesive solution and this was achieved through the development of glued-in perforated metal plates. It took around 10 years to develop these, with the reward being the Schweighofer Innovation Award in 2013. Known today as HSK systems, general building authority approval was issued for these products in November 2014 under number Z-9.1-770.

 

ticote_logo_entwicklung

 

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Rainer Bahmer
CEO TiComTec GmbH

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Leander Bathon
Head of the Labor für Holzbau (timber construction laboratory) and Bauphysiklabor (building physics laboratory) in the Architecture and Civil Engineering faculty at RheinMain University.

Von Ideen und
Auszeichnungen.

Bereits 1992 hatte Leander Bathon die Idee, plattenförmige Stahlteile in Holz einzukleben, um so Holz mit anderen Baustoffen zu verbinden. Im Jahr 2000 stellte Bathon das innovative Holz-Beton-Verbundsystem mit eingeklebten Stahlbauteilen der internationalen Öffentlichkeit auf der „World Conference of Timber Engineering“ in Kanada vor. Der Holzbauingenieur Rainer Bahmer, damals noch Geschäftsführer eines Holzleimbauunternehmens, erkannte das Potenzial von geklebten Verbindungen für den Holzbau.

Daraufhin wurden in Kooperation mit der Hochschule RheinMain (ehemals Hochschule Wiesbaden) erste Prüfkörper hergestellt. Aus den positiven Ergebnissen der Vorversuche an kleineren Prüfkörpern mit Balken, und einem 10m gespannten, realitätsgetreuen 1:1-Prüfkörper als Platte und einigen kleineren realisierten Bauobjekten im Bereich von Altbaurenovierungen, wurden die „HBV-Systems“ entwickelt. So wurde im Jahr 2000/2001 die erste HBV-Decke mit eingeklebten HBV-Schubverbindern in einem Bürogebäude mit 10m Spannweite und einer Fläche von 400m² eingesetzt. Parallel wurden in den Jahren 2000 bis 2002 in weiteren zahlreichen Versuchen verschiedene Stahlbleche und Klebstoffe für den Holz-Beton-Verbund getestet.

Auf Initiative von Prof. Bathon wurde im September des Jahres 2002 das Labor für Holzbau als Institution am Fachbereich Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen der Hochschule RheinMain gegründet, welches heute als eine der führenden forschenden Institutionen im Holzbau gilt. Seit März 2004 liegt eine allgemeine bauaufsichtliche Zulassung vom Deutschen Institut für Bautechnik (DIBt) in Berlin unter der Nummer Z-9.1-557 für die HBV-Systems vor. Seit 2004 wurden zahlreiche Tragkonstruktionen mit den HBV-Systems mit einer Gesamtfläche von inzwischen mehr als 100,000m² ausgeführt. 2006 folgte die Gründung der Firma TiComTec GmbH durch Rainer Bahmer. Ziel des Unternehmens ist die Weiterentwicklung und der Vertrieb der HBV- & HSK-Systems. Als forschende Institution beschäftigte sich das Labor für Holzbau in den darauf folgenden Jahren mit weiteren Verbundkonstruktionen.

Eine initiative Lösung für den Holz-Stahl-Klebeverbund war das Ziel und konnte mit der Entwicklung der eingeklebten Lochbleche erzielt werden. Diese Entwicklung dauerte ca. 10 Jahre und wurde 2013 mit der Verleihung des Schweighofer Innovationspreises gewürdigt. Heute unter HSK-Systems bekannt, erhielten diese im November 2014 die allgemeine bauaufsichtliche Zulassung des DIBt unter der Nummer Z-9.1-770.

 

ticote_logo_entwicklung

 

Dipl.-Ing. (FH) Rainer Bahmer
CEO TiComTec GmbH

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Leander Bathon
Leitung des Labors für Holzbau und des Bauphysiklabors am Fachbereich Architektur und Bauingenieurwesen der Hochschule RheinMain